What Do I Do If My Car Accident Claim Was Rejected?
Whether you choose the top law firm in the field or handle the case yourself, you should expect to be compensated for your automobile accident claim. Contrarily, insurance providers are notoriously stingy when it comes to paying out claims. The motivations for this can be positive or negative.
When an insurance company has a valid and lawful cause to withhold payment, it is said to be acting in good faith when it does so. Refusing to pay a policyholder’s valid claim or failing to investigate and process a claim within a reasonable timeframe is an example of “bad faith” insurance, which is an attempt to renounce client commitments. Get an initial consultation legal opinion on your situation from a Macon auto accident attorney.
Exactly why is it that some insurers will flat-out refuse to pay out on legitimate claims?
This list is not exhaustive but does include the following:
The Question of Liability Remains Unanswered
The insurance company will likely reject the claim if the fault is contested. They don’t want to have to fork over cash if it turns out their policyholder wasn’t at fault, so they take measures to ensure only legitimate claims are processed.
Thus, determining who was at fault for the collision right away is essential. Doing so is simple in some situations but difficult in rear-end crashes.
No Medical History
If there is no evidence of injuries or treatment, the insurance will not pay any compensation. In most cases, redress is only available once a loss has occurred. The insurer has every right to assume that you were not hurt in the collision if you cannot provide evidence of injury or the care you received following it.
Delay in receiving care after an auto accident might sometimes result in a claim being denied. You should get checked out by a doctor after an injury, even if you don’t think you need it.
Expenses Related to Automobile Accident Claims Total Amount Covered
Auto liability insurance coverage limits are set in Georgia. Drivers are required to have:
- The limit of responsibility for bodily harm is $25,000 per injured person or $50,000 total.
- The limit of responsibility for property damage is $25,000.
Accordingly, the insurance company for the party at fault will deny your claim if the total amount of your economic and non-economic losses exceed the policy maximum.
How would you handle responsibility if you caused the mishap?
You can still get compensated for an accident that you contributed to, at least in part, in Georgia. An individual has a decent probability of succeeding in court if they are less than half liable for their injuries. The comparable fault rule is used in Georgian courts. You can still win a case under this rule if you are less than 50% at fault. Unfortunately, the amount you can claim will be lowered by your degree of fault. If you are determined to be 30% responsible, your compensation will be reduced by that percentage. If your damages are $250,000, for example, $75,000 will be subtracted from that total. The lawyer you hire to represent you after an accident in Macon knows this.